Who am I to this unseen enemy?

Unseen Enemy

 

Fighting an enemy that these eyes do not know

Evading and dodging each unseen blow

An enemy so real that I can feel him near

With each strike he lands, things are less clear

An enemy who knows me inside and out

The upper hand he maintains in every bout

I do know which side of this battle I’m on

The long nights of battle while I await the dawn

Fighting this enemy whom I have never seen

Each new blow he lands, my heart it does sting

For who am I that he should fight me so fierce

Where is his weakness, that I too may pierce?

He knows who I am, and what I’m to do

As I struggle to learn, why this I go through

Tell me please for certain, of who I am

For with that knowledge, no more blows he can land

 

 

Leave a Reply

