Sidelines – A Father’s Heartache part 23

sideline

Lies and Deception, and Stories told

Turning a loving heart to one bitter and cold

I loved my child, from the very start

The lies she has told you has torn us apart

Forced to the sidelines, where I have watched you grow

Pleading with God that my love you would know

Faithfully watching from the sidelines each day

I stood there and watched you as you would laugh and did play

So many lies and deceptions were placed in your heart

While behind the scenes she would keep us apart

I fought and I fought for my fathers rights

While never letting go and out of my sights

Now that you’re older You struggle to know

That I did all I could for you while I watched as you grow

Doing the best from a distance that could possibly be done

I filled our brief moments with love, happiness and fun

Now you struggle to know in this life what is real

I pray deep in your heart that you know what is real

So please stop hating me and believing the lies

For each day you were gone from me I felt I would die

For you see I’m a father, pushed to the sidelines of life

By the same one that’s pierced our hearts with her knife

Yet in spite of the heartache, the sadness and pain

My love for you is grows deeper and will always remain

One thought on “Sidelines – A Father’s Heartache part 23

Leave a Reply

