Overcoming

overcoming

My life has been somewhat rather challenging, many obstacles that I never dreamt that I would ever encounter in life as a young man.  I have quietly rebuilt my life no less than 4 times from the ground up.  Choices of others have continually and directly impacted my life.  While I am able to see clearly that these choices have created difficulties for me at times throughout my life and without the choices made by others I would never have faced the overwhelming challenges I have.

Hindsight creates a unique perspective.  Without these challenges that I have endured I would not be the man I am today.  I know this to be true.  I also know that one key characteristic in my life that has defined who I have become and prevented utter destruction of my soul is that I have never allowed anyone and their choices the create a stumbling block of blame for where I am in life.  Each time that I have stepped up after being beaten down I have risen stronger, higher and with more determination than ever to be the one controlling my life.

Never have I let anyone dictate what I would and would not accomplish.   I have experienced decades of of attacks from others whom by their choices they meant to destroy my life and future.  From an ex wife to employees committing fraud, Each time that I rose above the obstacles created I have experienced a renewed effort at times by others to tear me back down in an attempt to keep me there.  There have been many who know of many of these struggles who have often commented that it would have destroyed them.  I beg to differ, for what doesn’t destroy always makes us stronger.  It is ALWAYS our choice in what we let destroy us.  No one else can ever make that choice for us.

As each of us will certainly encounter severe struggles, disappointments, heartaches and roadblocks in our lives, some created by our own choices, others created from the choices of others, we alone make the choice of where we allow them to take us.

Many times the urge to blame others for our own misfortunes exist, sometimes rightfully and justly so.  It is when we give into this urge and blame other people, government, religion, circumstances or other,  for our current circumstances in life that we surrender our will to their desire for us.   We abandon our own self each time we pass blame.

It is only through faith,  determination and belief in oneself that someone is able to rebuild a life, a career and family when others choices are involved.  For my choices to let certain people into my life in the first place added to my own heartache.  Taking responsibility for my own choices, my own life and staying determined to not be kept down.  Anyone can rise above any obstacle placed before them, it starts by faith and believing on yourself!

15 thoughts on “Overcoming

  1. Reblogged this on Double Your Presence and commented:
    Awesome post.

    Sometimes we just need posts like these to help inspire us as we learn and understand that we are not the only one struggling in life.

    As elusive as this fact may be, most (If not all) of us are!

    Cheers for overcoming your life struggles to get to where you are today bud, and of course, for sharing 😉

    It’ll definitely help inspire people in their life.

    Your friend,
    David Long

    Like

  2. Such an incredible statement, “we abandon our own self every time we pass blame.” So true. Life is a matter of choice and a matter of perspective. It’s not a matter of what troubles that come; its a matter of what you choose to do with the trouble that come! It’s nice to hear someone else state my stand; sometimes, that stand gets lonely in a world where the belief is often, “This has got to be someone else’s fault!” 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

