The Roadblocks of Life

Image

Life often seems like we are taking one step forward and two steps back.  The roadblocks we run into can seem overwhelming and extremely difficult to overcome as we continually battle to get ahead.   These moments when life hands us the setbacks we all to often encounter it is easy to become disheartened and discouraged. 

Many times these setbacks are caused by others whom I have let into my life at one point or another and whom I can never seem to eradicate them from interfering in my life today.  I tell myself often that time will correct these situations, yet each time another roadblock is thrown at me it seems as though it’s not two steps back but a hundred.

It is in these moments, when anger and frustration seem to want to take over my emotions when I must pause, reflect and recognize the many wondrous blessings with which I have been given. While the roadblocks are still there before me, I am more closely able to recognize that the times I do move forward in my life’s goals and direction that it is not simply one step but thousands.  I look at where I am and what I have been given and realize that more often than not, the times I have had to take steps backwards in reality brought me closer to the more direct path that I had missed the first time.

I resolve the roadblock and setback only to find the direct route I had been searching for all along, one that takes me towards my destination in a timelier and more direct path.  There is much to be discovered when we pause upon encountering the obstacles of life.

17 thoughts on “The Roadblocks of Life

  1. This was very well written. Recently, I heard someone say that they felt that they hadn’t grown at all. Then they looked back and realized just how far they had come.

    We may not be where we want to be, but we’re certainly not where we were.

    Like

  2. This was a great post and I liked what you said in summarizing it. Pausing and realizing our gifts and letting go of our burdens and roadblocks, really helps us to move ahead better. Easier said than done, sometimes, though! Hugs, Robin

    Like

  3. Interesting picture. As a young married woman with very young children, when things got tough I would picture my troubles as a boulder at the top of the hill. I would then concentrate on pushing that boulder over the edge. It’s amazing how that image could bring relief to a troubled mind.

    Like

  4. Thank you for stopping by at my blog and for liking one of my posts which now link me to your awesome blog. I do hope that you found the blog interesting. May the Lord richly bless you in the name of Jesus Christ.

    Like

  5. I recently got a suggestion from someone to write a story of my successes, and it really helped me realize that I’m making a lot more positive progress than I think I am (since I often tend to emphasize in my mind what isn’t going right). Just being conscious of our mind processes can be enough to turn it all around to help us see the positive side of it! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

